Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards Program


The distinguished playwright and screenwriter Michael Kanin (1910-1993) arranged for a remarkable series of awards to be given to student writers whose plays are entered as part of the festival. The purpose of the program is to encourage college students to write for the stage by providing the opportunity for them to engage in the playwriting process. Each new play registered as a Participating production will be considered for regional and national festival presentation with other entries. The festival expects the same high standard of production support for original scripts as is given any entry. The play selected to receive the National Student Playwriting Award will be presented at the national festival. The KCACTF National Selection Team will view National Student Playwriting Award entrants selected for regional festival presentation and select from that pool of entries.

The student-written play must be entered at the appropriate level. Plays eligible for the National Student Playwriting Award must be Participating or Associate level entries

Student playwrights interested in participating in the Ten-Minute Play Award category, or the John Cauble Short Play Award category should see the information below and contact the regional chair for specific information because scripts entered in those categories are screened at the regional level.

Rules and Regulations For All Playwriting Awards and Prizes

Ken Ludwig Playwriting Scholarship

KCACTF National Undergraduate Playwriting Award

Harold and Mimi Steinberg National Student Playwriting Award

John Cauble Award for Outstanding Short Play

Gary Garrison National Ten-Minute Play Award

Darrell Ayers Theatre for Young Audiences Playwriting Award

KCACTF Musical Theater Award

Lorraine Hansberry Playwriting Award

Paula Vogel Award in Playwriting

Latinx Playwriting Award

David Mark Cohen National Playwriting Award

Jean Kennedy Smith Playwriting Award

Mark Twain Prize for Comic Playwriting

Rosa Parks Playwriting Award

Paul Stephen Lim Playwriting Award

National Partners of the American Theater Playwriting Award

Hip Hop Theatre Creator Award